‘Without You’ – Shining the light on Domestic Violence

We can’t stop. We wouldn’t stop. We need to beam that light on Domestic Violence until it has no place to hide any more!

We need to stop making victims feel like culprits; like somehow it was their fault.

We need to stop sending them to ‘pray’; a dead person cannot pray.

We need to support people that flee Domestic Violence; the first few months, even years are the most vulnerable …the time when they are most likely to return to their abuser. They can live without their abuser or they will die with their abuser.

WITHOUT YOU

Without you, I cannot live

Without you, I cannot give

Without you, I cannot breathe

Without you, I wouldn’t be me.

Without your fist in my face,

I cannot see.

Without your foot in my sternum,

I cannot breathe.

Without you twisting my arm,

I cannot give.

Without your hands round my neck,

I cannot live.

I cannot live without you,

I’ve believed a lie

I cannot breathe without you

I will die.

I cannot grow without you

How false.

I am nothing without you

You. Me. Us

Lies, Deception,

Taken root deep

Within.

Telling me

I am nothing,

Without him.

Hands pulling

Telling me

Let’s go!

Me

Resisting

Telling them

NO!

Without him,

I cannot breathe

Without him,

I cannot live

Without him,

I cannot give

Without him,

I am not me.

I stay, I live

Half a life

I stay, I breathe,

Half a wife

I stay, I give

Half my heart

I stay, I am me.

Torn apart.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “‘Without You’ – Shining the light on Domestic Violence

  1. I don’t like poems 😥 :'(. I. DON’T. LIKE POEMS.

    Lol. this shows you are really pained with the issue. Let’s shine the light so bright, in one color, that there wouldn’t be a spectrum to have a lesser version of it at varying ends.

    Now, let’s channel your anger into the write place. (you see what I did there?)
    a series on abuse, perhaps??

    I DON’T LIKE POEMS. I HONESTLY DONT LIKE THEM.

    Like

    1. I might even start off with ‘I don’t like poems’!
      Thanks Kachi. You inspire me even when you may not intend to!
      Domestic Violence is a slow-acting poison that needs to be flushed out completely!!!

      Like

    1. How can they? When the person who is supposed to love them, hurts them. It’s something your mind cannot comprehend so you chose the path of least resistance by believing that s/he will change; that it’s only temporary…you can’t reconcile what they are with what they were when you first met them.
      Society…they don’t want to admit that people can be that evil…it will make them begin to question all they know so they join in keeping you there so that their collective boats will not be rocked!

      Like

Leave a Reply

