I was going to write and then I watched Emem Isong’s ‘Knocking on Heaven’s Door.

My pencil has been playing hide and seek with my journal so I thought, ‘Hmm, let me ‘distract’ myself and do something else, perhaps, inspiration will come. So I went to iRoko TV to see what was on offer.

I love Nollywood by the way, warts and all.

On my sister’s recommendation, I chose Knocking on Heavens Door by Emem Isong and Royal Arts Academy. I thoroughly enjoyed it and it resonated with me in so many ways. I know first hand about domestic violence. I know how hard, nay almost impossible it is to break free…that belief that there’s a mistake somewhere, that this person cannot possibly a monster; that somewhere, somehow, the switch will flip back and s/he will return to what they were when you first met them and all will be well again.

It’s that ‘hoping against hope’. That ‘but what will people say‘. That ‘but, I am a Christian‘. That ‘s/he will change, I am praying…’

In my former blogging life, I wrote a piece about this when a lot of women, in Nigeria, at the time were turning up dead at the hands of their spouses; supposedly loved ones – Titi Arowolo, Nkechi Ngene, Ogochukwu Onuchukwu, to name a few.

Sadly, it’s still relevant today. I wish I had a magic wand to wave over all the silent victims and wish them away into safer and loving situations but I don’t.

WOUNDED

(Dedicated to all victims of domestic violence)

I was wounded today,

A dagger plunged

Deep into my heart

I was wounded today,

Until I fell apart.

 

I was wounded today,

My words thrown

Back in my face

I was told with hate,

“You are a big disgrace.”

 

I was wounded today

My ring, a circle of doom

It’s original intention,

Clouded in gloom.

 

I was wounded today,

Tears flowing like a stream

A crazed, hysterical sound

Mine

Coming from within.

 

I was wounded today,

My love crushed with a slap,

A blow, a kick, a fist:

Blood flowing like a tap.

 

I was wounded today,

My life, my dreams, my hopes

Ebbing away,

Broken,

Like a string; a puppet on a rope.

 

I was wounded today,

I could have been healed

But I stayed,

I remained

Wanted to appear sparkling.

 

I was wounded today,

I’m taking my last breath

I was wounded yesterday

I should have just left.

8 thoughts on “I was going to write and then I watched Emem Isong’s ‘Knocking on Heaven’s Door.

  1. I believe churches in Nigeria should take up that fight as their corporate social responsibility and dwell more on it instead. Because church in Nigeria has a big ‘power of incumbency'(if I’m allowed to borrow that expression) and people swallow almost hook, line & sinker the words of anybody on the pulpit as there’s a general consensus(by majority of the population irrespective of educational status) that they speak holy words.

    But the problem is: would they? Honestly, in a church programme one day there was a story of a man who beats the wife regularly and all the coordinator said was that the woman should know the husband is hot tempered therefore she should apply wisdom in her dealings with him to prevent further beatings and the congregation seconded the motion. Then she added that men should try not to beat their wives. I was soo furious, she actually said “try”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. My dear, the thing beggars belief!!!
      We have allowed ourself to become so blinded by our own narrow-minded perceptions and then we couch it in ‘scripture’.
      How can you claim you love someone and harm them? How are people not able to open their eyes and see?
      I still maintain that we need to raise our children differently! This belief that it’s acceptable to hit someone because of your ‘bad temper’…I mean, where do you get off!!!
      My dear, this thing leaves my speechless!!!

      Like

  2. Warts and all, lol! Nice to meet someone who feels the same way I do about our flawed but awesome Nollywood. All my friends are like “really? you love Nollywood? but you seem like such an intelligent person!”(Ps, I also love bollywood. don’t judge me :-\)
    Knocking on Heavens Door also spoke to me. It was well done, if a bit “bleh” at the end. The whole “but I am a Christian” thing…and the recent escalation of domestic abuse-nnaa nwannem, ah tire o.
    #Dasall *going back to my oka and ube*

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thanks for visiting Margaret. I love Nollywood and Bollywood too. In fact I’ve been watching Bollywood since forever…and I still do.
      Yeah that whole ‘lets-tie-this-up-nicely-and-end-it-in-a-Christian way’ sucks big time. I mean, {spoiler alert}…her husband just had to die abi? So she could be free to re-marry? Shish!!!

      So how on earth does the church expect women or men to flee domestic violence if they keep perpetuating this ‘stay-there-till-you-die’ message???

      Anyway, thanks once again for visiting. Hope you pop by again soon.

      Like

  3. Obisco1, “Knocking on Heaven’s Door” is one of the better Nigerian movies I have seen. A friend, who I always condemn for watching Nigerian movies, encouraged me to see it. I was angry with the whole situation, but I just decided to watch the movie for what it was and not what I wanted it to be. It was too convenient that the husband “had” to die at the hands of an ex-girlfriend. When she gave Majid’s character her reasons for not leaving, either infidelity or death can cause her to leave, and then said that she can vouch for her husband’s faithfulness, I knew what the end would be. I was just praying that they will not go the usual route of “oh-the-man-realized-the-error-of-his-ways-and-repented-so-everything-is-now-peachy.”

    *End of rant. :O

    Like

    1. O lawdy lawdy!

      SpeakNoEvil! SpeakNoEvil!! SpeakNoEvil!!! How many times did I call you???

      You will not kill me with your humorous/caustic tongue! You just will not! I’m still ‘using style’ to try and come up with a suitable reply while I’m laughing and typing away. Chei!
      My dear, I understand perfectly what you mean so I ‘kee nkwucha’, suspend belief to the highest height and watch. I love Nollywood but I’m not blind to it’s ‘To God Be The Glory’ faults. I just felt that the writer was channelling the typical naija mentality and possibly not what she would have really wanted. On that note, you might want to watch ‘Make A Move’. It was brilliantly done – no supree supree or Ojuju Kalamba weaves.
      Thanks for stopping by and please come and rant any time you want! 🙂
      Cheers

      Like

Leave a Reply

